Bideford Pannier Market

Bideford Pannier Market
Market Place
EX39 2DR
United Kingdom

The Pannier Market, Market Place

Bideford’s Pannier Market is sited in the Old Town Area: follow the High Street, take a left turn along Grenville Street and there it stands, a formidable Victorian Building.

The Complex Comprises the Market Hall which hosts regular themed events and speciality markets including arts and crafts, whenever possible markets will be held in the Pannier Market Hall on Tuesdays and Saturdays, alongside ad hoc / bespoke Events. The facilities include the popular Galley Café, free Wi-Fi, baby changing area toilets (including those for the disabled).

 The Hall is for Hire be they private bookings or local Community groups; from the Kenwith Company of Archers to the Hospice organised “Light up A Life,” the August Annual Flower Show to Boxing Club Tournaments.

The historic covered facility also includes the Butcher’s Row thoroughfare that provides an eclectic offer including noted artisans specialising in pottery, wood carving and stained glass.  Further offers include a traditional grocers / delicatessen, bespoke handmade / crafted gifts, food and sweets outlets.

The Market Place front shops include field sports, holistic treatments, Interior Design Services, hairdressing music and toys.

The Market genuinely offers a covered, eclectic, independent / sole trader shopping experience; all are welcome.

Butcher’s Row and Market Place Shops are open Tuesdays through to Saturdays (Mondays in season).


Built in 1884 at a cost of £4,200 to house a fish market, butchery stalls and corn exchange, the then Mayor, G W Vincent, performed the opening ceremony followed by a public dinner for almost 200 people. Now each year in early December, the Mayor gives out mince pies and mead to the populace to celebrate Bideford Town Council taking over the management of market in 1991.

It is called the Pannier Market after the wicker baskets, or panniers, in which farmers’ wives carried their wares and a market has been held in Bideford since the granting of the Charter of Incorporation in 1573.